NAYLE: The Ultimate Leadership Experience

From the fall edition of Heritage Headlines:

Upon arriving at Philmont Scout Ranch in the beautiful Sangre de Cristo Mountains of New Mexico this past August, I expected what I’ve experienced so many times before: a simple summer camp. When I left a week later however, I wouldn’t describe my time at the ranch as simple. In fact, it would be hard for me to appropriately articulate my time at NAYLE at all. The program, an acronym for National Advanced Youth Leadership Experience is a BSA training camp. The experience manifestation however, fostered personal growth on levels that I’ve never before been privileged to encounter. During NAYLE, I was exposed to not only emotional and physical challenges, but also (and perhaps most importantly) to a specific lifelong challenge: servant leadership.

Read the Rest

Annalisa Wurm, 2012 Session 6 Participant and AHG Stars and Stripes recipient 2010. Anna is part of an all-girl Venturing Crew 3730, chartered by First Church of the Nazarene, Pasadena, CA.

Leave a Reply

